Best PhD Thesis Prize 2013
The Governing Council of Hel.A.S. established in October 2011 the “Best PhD thesis Prize” of the Hellenic Astronomical Society. The Prize is aimed at young scientists working in the fields of Astronomy and Astrophysics. The Council hopes that the Prize will promote and will increase the visibility of the research work done by the Junior members of our Society.

The prize is restricted to Junior members of Hel.A.S, who have successfully defended their thesis in a University either in Greece or abroad. The Thesis should be written on a topic in Astronomy or Astrophysics. The Prize is accompanied by an award in the form of financial support for the participation of the Prize recipient in an international conference to present the results from his/her thesis. The award recipient is also expected to give an oral presentation on their thesis at one of the Society’s conferences.

Any Ordinary or Associated member of the Society can propose a candidate for the competition. The proposal should be accompanied by: a) a reference letter, b) the CV of the proposed candidate, c) a list with publications in referred journals and oral/poster presentations in international conferences, and d) an abstract of the thesis (no more than three A4 pages). The proposals are evaluated by the Hel.A.S. Council. The Council evaluates the proposals based mainly on the number of papers (directly relevant to the thesis work) published by the applicant (as a first author) in the main Astronomical Journals (i.e. A&A, MNRAS, ApJ, AJ, as well as Nature, Science, PRL), the number citations to these papers (excluding self-citations), the applicant's overall CV, and the reference letter which accompanies the nomination.

2013 “Best PhD thesis Prize”.
The Council received 6 nominations for the 2013 thesis Prize. All nominees had defended successfully their PhD in the period from 1st of August 2011 until 31st of July 2013, as specified in the original announcement of the Prize, and were nominated by an Ordinary member of the Society.

The thesis' topics covered a wide range of topics from Solar to Stellar and Extragalactic Astrophysics. The Council studied all nominations carefully, and was very pleased with the thesis work of all nominees, which was of the highest quality. After a lengthy deliberation, the Council awarded unanimously the “2013 Best PhD thesis Prize” to Dr. E. Papastergis.

Dr. Papastergis received his Diploma from the Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki in 2007. He then started his PhD at the Department of Astronomy of Cornell University. He has recently accepted the offer of a “NOVA” postdoctoral fellowship in the Netherlands, which he has chosen to take to the University of Groningen this coming Fall. The CV of Dr. Papastergis can be found “here”, and his thesis abstract can be found “here”.

Dr. Papastergis will give an oral presentation on his thesis work on Tuesday, 10th of September, in the forthcoming Conference of our Society, just before the General Assembly of the Society.

  Copyright © , Hellenic Astronomical Society