News & Events
The first Radiotelescope in Greece
A 30 meter radio telescope will be constructed and operated in Greece for the first time, at the southeastern point of Europe at the Thermopile Center of Satellite Communications in the region of Skarfeia, Lokrida. The ambitious project is the result of the scientific collaboration between the scientists in charge, Assistant Professor - Radio Astronomer Nectaria A.B. Gizani, from the School of Science and Technology (SST) of the Hellenic Open University, and Assistant Professor - Physicist-RF Engineer George P. Veldes, from the Telecommunication Systems & Applications Research Laboratory (TSARL) of the Department of Electronics Engineering of Technological Educational Institute of Sterea Ellada. The aim is to build a fully professional instrument capable of observing, both as a stand-alone single dish and as a VLBI antenna (e.g. in the EVN and the IVS). The antenna will also participate in SETI searches in collaboration with the Breakthrough Listen Research Laboratory, Department of Astronomy, UC Berkeley. The project’s national impact expected, apart from popularization and educational activities to act as an inspirational drive for new scientists, includes the opening of new fields of applications which could contribute to the development of the Hellenic Industry.

  • Travel grants: The Hellenic Astronomical Society provides financial support to graduate-student (i.e. junior) members of the Society in attending international scientific conferences and workshops that are deemed paramount for the completion of their PhD Thesis. Starting November 2014, a call for applications is issued twice a year, namely in early November for meetings occurring during the first half of each year (January - June) and in early May for meetings occurring during the year's second half (July - December). The deadline for submitting the application is on December 15 and June 20 of each year. The application form is available here.

Astronomy Societies and Activities in Greece

Today is
  Copyright © , Hellenic Astronomical Society, All rights reserved