Hel.A.S. Newsletter 245 - July 2018

  1. Short News
  2. 36th General Assembly and Hel.A.S. Elections
  3. Student and Postdoctoral Research Opportunities Abroad
  4. Upcoming Astronomy Meetings in Greece
  5. New book on Solar particle radiation
  6. About this Newsletter
1. Short News

The Society is delighted to announce to its Members, and would like to congratulate the Founding Ordinary member Yervan Terzian for receiving the NASA Distinguished Public Service Medal. It is the highest honor that NASA awards. The medal will be presented by NASA administrator Jim Bridenstine at the NASA Johnson Space Center in Houston on August 2 and the ceremony will be broadcast live on NASA TV. Find more info from here

Our Society would like to congratulate Ordinary Member Christos Efthymiopoulos for his election for a three year term as a Vice-President in the A4 Inter-division commission "Celestial Mechanics and Dynamical Astronomy" of the International Astronomical Union.

Our Society would like to congratulate Ordinary Member Manolis Georgoulis who will be a visiting research Professor at the Department of Physics and Astronomy at the Georgia State University in Atlanda, Georgia, USA for one year with the possibility of extending it for one more year.

The fifth annual ESAC Data Analysis and Statistics (EDAS) workshop at ESA center, Madrid, will take place on October 8 to 11, 2018. Details can be found here or contact Ordinary Member Yannis Zouganelis.

2. 36th General Assembly and Hel.A.S. Elections
The 36th General assembly of Hel.A.S. took place on June 22, 2018, at the Society's headquarters, the Laboratory of Astronomy of the Physics Department of the University of Athens. The outgoing President, Prof. A. Mastichiadis, summarized the activities of Hel.A.S. during the term 2016-2018, while the Treasurer, M. Xilouris, presented a detailed account of the Society's finances. The Secretary, M. Georgoulis, introduced to the GA six (6) new membership applications, of which four (4) were submitted for a junior membership and two (2) for an Associate membership.  

Applications for junior membership were received by:
1)Loukaidou Georgia (PhD candidate, U. of Athens, proposed by D. Hatzidimitriou and A. Mastichiadis)
2)Paraskeva Emmanouela (PhD candidate, U. of Athens, proposed by A. Bonanos and P. Boumis)
3)Chira Maria (PhD candidate, U. of Thessaloniki, proposed by E. Plionis and S. Basilakos)
4)Florou Ioulia (PhD candidate, U. of Athens proposed by A. Mastichiadis and K. Gazeas)

Applications for Associate membership were received by:
1) Samara Evangelia (graduate student U. of Athens proposed by M.Georgoulis and P. Patsis)
2) Kriblis Alexander (individual, very interested in Astronomy and strongly wishing to become a member, proposed by M. Georgoulis and E. Xilouris)

Moreover, the council suggested to the GA, after a request of interested Member, the placement to the class of the Retirees of
Avgoloupis Stavros(FO)

The council suggested to the GA the reinstatement of members whose membership was canceled due to non-payment which came on their own accord and payed their membership.
1)Antoniou Antonios(O)
2)Romaiou Zaharenia(O)
3)Karageorgopoulos Vasileios(O)

The GA unanimously approved the above applications and modifications. In addition, the Secretary introduced to the GA the applications of four (4) Junior Members to be upgraded to Ordinary Members following the successful completion of their PhD Thesis. Applications were received by Drs. Dimitriadis George, Kouloumvakos Athanasios, Tritsis Aris, Karageorgopoulos Vasileios. The GA unanimously approved the above changes of membership status.

Due to the above modifications, the Society counts 257 members, of which 24 are retirees. The rest 233 members include 168 Ordinary Members, 31 Junior Members, 13 Associate Members and 21 Founding Ordinary Members.

In the elections that followed the 36th General Assembly, the members of He.A.S. voted for the President of the Society, as well as for the new council and auditors for the 2018-2020 term. The resulting council from the elections are:

President: Apostolos Mastichiadis
Vice-President: Panos Patsis
Secretary: Costis Gontikakis
Treasurer: Antonis Georgakakis
Members: Spiros Patsourakos, Vasiliki Pavlidou, Nektarios Vlahakis

Auditors for 2018-2020
Georgios Balasis, Spyros Basilakos, Despina Hatzidimitriou
3.A new book on Solar Particle Radiation
 A new, open-access book entitled 'Solar Particle Radiation Storms Forecasting and Analysis, the HESPERIA HORIZON 2020 Project and Beyond', appeared on Springer, Astrophysics and Space Science Library, 2018. The Editors are Ordinary Member Olga Malandraki (National Observatory of Athens) and Norma B. Crosby (BIRA-IASB).

The Society congratulates Dr Malandraki for this initiative to edit an open-access, scientific volume. Interested colleagues may download the book from here
4. Student and Postdoctoral Research Opportunities Abroad
The list below may be refreshed or updated with further established lists:
  • ESA co-fund two PhD posts in Space Science at ESAC through the NPI program. The deadline is on 31st July 2018. For more info look here.
  • ESA proposes postdoctoral Space Science fellowships, with a deadline on 1 October 2018. More infos cound be found here. Questions can be addressed at: fellowship@cosmos.esa.int
Any Member of the Society who wishes to contribute another credible link with opportunities, or individual opportunities that will, however, be shown in a single-liner format as above, is encouraged to contact the Secretary of the Society.
9. Upcoming Astronomy Meetings in Greece
10. About this Newsletter

This Newsletter was sent to all members of Hel.A.S. who have e-mail access. The next edition of the Newsletter will be mailed around August 1, 2018.  Please send your announcements (e.g., appointments / departures, job openings, research opportunities, awards, conferences in Greece) or comments before July 25, 2018. If you do not wish to receive future issues of this Newsletter or the e-mail address to which it was sent is not your preferred one, please inform the Secretary of Hel.A.S. at secretary@helas.gr.


Today is
  Copyright © , Hellenic Astronomical Society, All rights reserved